Florida State University Business Review

The Business Review is a law journal at the Florida State University College of Law and is designed

The Business Review offers its readers a unique perspective of the various topics under the rubric of business, and the ways in which the mechanisms of business both influence and are influenced by the law. The Business Review publishes articles by professors, judges, and practitioners, as well as notes written by second- and third-year law students. Each piece selected for publication in the Busi

Operating as usual

03/18/2024

We are excited to announce the Editorial Board for the FSU Business Review’s Volume 24! We look forward to all the ways in which Stephen Fowler and the new Board will lead and shape the journal. The new E-Board will work with Professor Linford to execute the FSU Business Review’s Volume 24 Symposium - stay tuned! Congratulations to all!

02/13/2024

They're all trained and ready to go - please join us in welcoming our new members!

Photos from Florida State University Business Review's post 01/26/2024

Our final three speakers are Professor Miller, Professor Markell, and our very own Professor Johnson. Each will be presenting their articles addressing various aspects of bankruptcy law.

01/24/2024

We are honored to announce that Professor Brubaker will be delivering the keynote address at our Symposium this year. Professor Brubaker is considered to be one of the leading bankruptcy scholars of his generation, and we are excited to welcome him to the FSU College of Law.

01/23/2024

The Business Review’s Second Annual Symposium is set to commence this Friday, featuring a special introduction by Chief Judge Karen K. Specie of the United States Bankruptcy Court, Northern District of Florida, a proud alum of the Florida State University College of Law. We are thrilled to have Judge Specie join us to kick off this year's Symposium!

01/03/2024

📢📢SAVE THE DATE! The FSU Business Review is excited to announce its second annual symposium. This year's topic is Perspectives in Bankruptcy Law. The Symposium will bring together prominent judges, including The Honorable Chief Judge Karen K. Specie of the United States Bankruptcy Court of the Northern District of Florida, practitioners, and academics to discuss varied topics, including: the causes of and trends in insolvency, the historical development of bankruptcy law, and current and developing substantive procedural bankruptcy issues. We look forward to the engaging dialogue to take place and hope you will join us. Scan the QR code or follow the link to register. https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSd-G6RfA1FNyCI9QJboPpC5kJcq7zfLd9cVC2CJwkmAKcDSSg/viewform?usp=sf_link A special thank you to the Florida State University College of Law and Stoops Center for their continued support!

09/15/2023

They're all trained and ready to go! Congratulations to our new members! Welcome to the team!

03/22/2023

Please welcome the Editorial Board for the FSU Business Review’s Volume 23! We are eager to see Maresa Semper and the new E-Board thrive in their new positions. The new E-Board looks forward to working with Professor Johnson to facilitate the FSU Business Review’s Volume 23 Symposium. Congratulations to all!

Photos from Florida State University College of Law's post 02/13/2023
02/08/2023

We are excited for Professor Kleinberger's presentation on Friday!

A graduate of Harvard University (A.B. 1972, summa cm laude) and Yale Law School (J.D. 1979), Daniel S. Kleinberger is Emeritus Professor of Law at Mitchell Hamline School of Law. Before being granted emeritus status, Professor Kleinberger taught business law for 28 years at William Mitchell College of Law (one of the two predecessors of the School of Law).

Since 1997, Professor Kleinberger has served as Reporter or Co-Reporter for six major projects of the Uniform Law Commission (ULC). In 2018, the ULC presented to him a special award for extraordinary service, and in 2019 he received the Martin I. Lubaroff Award from the ABA Committee on Limited Liability Companies, Partnerships, and Unincorporated Entities .
Professor Kleinberger’s scholarship includes a leading national treatise on limited liability companies, a popular student treatise on agency, partnerships, and LLCs, and myriad articles in the field of business organizations. His scholarly work has been cited by Six Circuits of the United States Courts of Appeal, numerous Federal District Courts, the State Supreme Court in eight states, numerous state Courts of Appeal, the Federal Bankruptcy Court, the Delaware Court of Chancery, and the North Carolina Business Court, among others.

Professor Kleinberger serves regularly as an expert witness, consulting expert, or both with regard to customary business norms and practices pertaining to business law issues. He has also served in the role of special litigation committee (SLC), as counsel to SLCs, and as special corporate counsel with regard to advancements and indemnification.

02/07/2023

Congratulations to our new members! Welcome to the team!

02/07/2023

We are excited for Professor Miller's presentation on Friday!

Elizabeth S. Miller holds the M. Stephen and Alyce A. Beard Chair in Business and Transactional Law at Baylor Law School where she teaches Business Organizations, Business Planning, and related courses. Professor Miller speaks and writes extensively on business organizations topics, particularly partnerships and limited liability companies. She frequently appears on continuing legal education programs and is co-author of a three-volume treatise on Business Organizations published by Thomson/West as part of its Texas Practice Series and a one-volume treatise that is part of the Texas Methods of Practice subset of the Texas Practice Series. Professor Miller has served as Chair of the LLCs, Partnerships and Unincorporated Entities Committee of the Business Law Section of the American Bar Association as well as the Partnership and Limited Liability Company Law Committee of the Business Law Section of the State Bar of Texas. She has also served as Chair of the Business Law Section of the State Bar of Texas. Professor Miller has been involved in the drafting of legislation affecting Texas business organizations for many years and has served in an advisory or membership capacity on the drafting committees for numerous prototype, model, and uniform statutes and agreements relating to unincorporated business organizations. She currently chairs the Editorial Board of the LLCs, Partnerships and Unincorporated Entities Committee of the ABA Business Law Section and is a member of the Uniform Law Commission-American Bar Association Joint Editorial Board for Uniform Unincorporated Organizations Acts.

Professor Miller is an elected member of the American Law Institute, a Life Fellow of the American Bar Foundation and the Texas Bar Foundation, and a recipient of the Jean Allard Glass Cutter Award presented by the ABA Business Law Section and the Martin I. Lubaroff Award presented by the LLCs, Partnerships and Unincorporated Entities Committee of the ABA Business Law Section.

02/07/2023

Check out our podcast episode to learn more about our symposium! Hope to see you on Friday!

**New Podcast Episode Alert**
Check out Season 3, Episode 2 of the Takin’ Care of Business Podcast, featuring 3Ls Natalie Alonso and Emily Wood. They talk about the upcoming Florida State University Business Review Symposium and the benefits of attending.


Watch the podcast here: https://youtu.be/7fjI8oNs2p4

02/07/2023

We are excited for Professor Heminway's presentation on Friday!

Joan MacLeod Heminway is the Rick Rose Distinguished Professor of Law and Interim Director of the Institute for Professional Leadership at The University of Tennessee College of Law and a fellow of the C. Warren Neel Corporate Governance Center and the Center for the Study of Social Justice at The University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Professor Heminway joined the College of Law faculty in 2000 after completing nearly 15 years of corporate transactional legal practice (including work on public offerings, private placements, mergers, acquisitions, dispositions, and restructurings) in the Boston office of Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP. Professor Heminway’s scholarship focuses on securities disclosure law and policy (especially under Rule 10b-5, including insider trading) and incorporated and unincorporated business associations law in the United States (including entrepreneurial and social enterprise governance and finance).

She has authored numerous articles and book chapters in domestic and international publications and is a coauthor (with Douglas M. Branson, Mark J. Loewenstein, Marc I. Steinberg & Manning G. Warren, III) of a business law text, Business Enterprises: Legal Structures, Governance, and Policy (Carolina Academic Press, 4th Ed. 2020). In addition, her edited/coauthored book, Martha Stewart’s Legal Troubles (Carolina Academic Press), was released in 2007.

Professor Heminway is a member of the American Law Institute and is licensed to practice in Tennessee (where she currently serves as a member and former Chair of the Business Law Section of the Tennessee Bar Association) and Massachusetts (where she is inactive and served as Chair of the Corporate Law Committee of the Boston Bar Association).

02/05/2023

Maxwell Holleman is a 2L student at the Florida State University College of Law with an intent to graduate in May 2024. He is one of our student panelists!

Maxwell is originally from Detroit, Michigan where he graduated from Franklin Road Christian School in 2017. After high school, he attended Evangel University in Springfield, Missouri majoring in Political Science and minoring in Business Management and Social Science. During his time at Evangel, Maxwell was an active participant in the Pre-Law Society and the President of the Turning Point USA chapter at Evangel. Upon graduating in 2020, Maxwell was awarded the Kendrick-Karmokovic-Hoslinger Award which is given to the student with the highest GPA in the Social Sciences department.

As a 1L, Maxwell participated in the Tulane Professional Negotiation Competition and received offers to join the FSU Law Trial Team, FSU Business Review, and FSU Law Review. During his 1L summer, Maxwell worked for Crary Buchanan, P.A. in Stuart, Florida and continues to work as a part-time law clerk in its business litigation practice area.

In June, Maxwell will start a summer associate position with Morgan & Morgan, P.A. in Jacksonville, Florida. Maxwell has aspirations to work as a personal injury attorney and represent mixed martial arts fighters and other athletes as an agent in contract negotiations and endorsement deals.

His note, “The Bankruptcy System’s Watchdog: Why the Supreme Court Needs to Grant Appellate Standing to U.S. Trustees” will be published in Volume 22 of the Florida State University Business Review.

02/01/2023

Join us today as 3L Natalie Alonso is taking over our Instagram and Facebook stories! Learn about her experiences with Florida State University College of Law, the Florida State University Business Review, and the Symposium. Feel free to ask Natalie any questions that come to mind. Enjoy the stories!

02/01/2023

Professor Christopher Bradley is a Wyatt, Tarrant & Combs Associate Professor of Law at the University of Kentucky. He will be presenting at our symposium!

Prior to academia, Bradley clerked for a federal appellate judge and a bankruptcy judge and practiced bankruptcy and business law at several top law firms. He serves on the Executive Committees of the Association of American Law Schools Section on Agency, Partnership, LLCs and Unincorporated Associations and of the Section on Commercial and Related Consumer Law. He is a founding fellow of the American College of LLC and Partnership Attorneys.

Much of Professor Bradley's research explores the impact of technology on business and commercial law, as well as the use of business entities (such as LLCs) in various commercial contexts. This research includes "Art Works as Business Entities: Sculpting Property Rights by Private Agreement," Tulane Law Review (2020), which discusses the power of modern business entity law to reshape other areas of law and regulation; “Privacy for Sale: The Law of Transactions in Consumers’ Personal Data,” Yale Journal on Regulation (forthcoming), an empirical project on the sale of consumer data by bankrupt companies; and "Disrupting Secured Transactions," Houston Law Review (2019), which explores the impact of the Internet of Things and related technologies on secured transactions law (UCC Art. 9).

He is co-author of a bankruptcy casebook with Douglas Whaley and a well-regarded practitioners’ manual with Lynn LoPucki & Christopher Mirick. He has won numerous awards for teaching, often co-authors with students, and remains deeply engaged with pro bono and community service activities.

01/31/2023

We are excited to share that one of our staff editors, Jake Balducci (3L), will be presenting his student note at our symposium!

At FSU Law, Jake is an active member of the FSU Business Review, Article Selection Editor of the FSU Law Review, and President of the Entertainment, Arts, and Sports Law Society. As a lifelong musician and graduate of the FSU College of Music, Jake is passionate about reforming copyright law to better align with the process of musical composition. In his view, intellectual property law’s misunderstanding of originality in music negatively impacts artists and the music business.

Register for the event today: https://www.stoopscolab.com/events/business-law-review-symposium/

Photos from Florida State University Business Review's post 01/27/2023

📢 We are excited to announce our inaugural symposium, New Frontiers in Organizational Law!

In addition to the speakers listed, an FSU College of Law professor will give lunchtime remarks, and two FSU Law students will present their work. Third-year student Jake Balducci will present a student note entitled “Originality in Music Copyright,” and second-year student Maxwell Holleman will present his paper entitled “The Bankruptcy System’s Watchdog: Why the Supreme Court Needs to Grant Appellate Standing to U.S. Trustees.”

Please visit our event web page to learn more about the schedule and speakers, and to register to attend the symposium in person or online.

We hope to see you there! Special thank you to Florida State University College of Law and the Stoops Colab for their help.

01/19/2023

The Stoops Colab at the Florida State University College of Law is proud to host The Symposium, presented by the Florida State University Business Review. This inaugural symposium, entitled New Frontiers in Organizational Law, is a free event that can be seen in-person or virtually. For the list of speakers, topics, and to register, please visit https://www.stoopscolab.com/events/business-law-review-symposium/

01/09/2023

We are excited to share that 3L Alan Gonzalez has been published on the Stoops Colab website! Go check out his article on loot boxes at https://www.stoopscolab.com/the-growing-issue-of-unregulated-gambling-loot-boxes/

The Stoops Colab at the Florida State University College of Law is proud to publish an article written by 3L Alan Gonzalez on our website! Go check out his article on loot boxes and learn more about him at https://www.stoopscolab.com/the-growing-issue-of-unregulated-gambling-loot-boxes/

08/22/2022

Congratulations to our new members!

05/04/2022

📝 Summer Call for Submissions is now open! The deadline to submit papers is Monday, May 9 by 11:59 pm. Please refer to the email sent by Student Advancement for more details!

02/28/2022

Please welcome the Editorial Board for the FSU Business Review’s Volume 22! We are eager to see Natalie Alonso and the new E-Board thrive in their new positions. The FSU Business Review has gone though some exciting changes this year, including adding a Symposium Director for the upcoming Volume. Please welcome our first ever Symposium Director, Dean Bayern. The new E-Board looks forward to working with Dean Bayern to facilitate the FSU Business Review’s Volume 22 Symposium.

09/11/2021

Please join us in congratulating our 12 newest members!

02/26/2021

As the 2020-2021 year draws to an end, we are proud to announce the Editorial Board for FSU Business Review's Volume 21. We are confident that Jodiceson Woody and the new E-Board will excel in these new leadership positions. Already, this E-Board boasts one of the largest acceptance classes with 28 recent staff editor acceptances. We look forward to the production of an exceptional Volume 21! Congratulations!!!

02/04/2021

One of our favorite times of the year is announcing the newest members of FSU Business Review. We truly could not publish a successful Volume 20 without your dedication and erudition! Congratulations to our newest members!

07/20/2020

Even in unprecedented times, traditions remain. Florida State University Business Review is continuing the tradition of welcoming a brand new group of scholars. Welcome to Volume 20 and congratulations on your achievement!

06/03/2020

We at FSU Business Review support FSU BLSA and join them in the mission to support and advance equality and justice for all.

Want your school to be the top-listed School/college in Tallahassee?

Click here to claim your Sponsored Listing.

Our Story

Founded in 2000, the Business Review published its first issue in the summer of 2001. The Business Review is published annually, student-run by its editorial board and staff editors, and guided by the College of Law faculty and administration. Although its current and original title is officially the Florida State University Business Review, between 2005 and 2007 its title was the Florida State University Business Law Review.

The Business Review typically selects its staff editors through bi-annual writing competition, held among the College of Law students and which includes assessment of source and citation skills in addition to skills at analyzing legal scholarship. In addition, students who receive the highest grades in certain legal writing or business law courses may be admitted to the Business Review. Law students may also be offered admission if they write a note that is accepted for publication in the Business Review. All Business Review members are required to meet minimum grade point average requirements throughout their tenure.

Location

Address


425 W. Jefferson Street
Tallahassee, FL
32301

Other Colleges & Universities in Tallahassee (show all)
Florida State University - College of Business Florida State University - College of Business
821 Academic Way
Tallahassee, 32306

International Acclaim. Individual Attention.

Florida A&M University Florida A&M University
1601 S M L King Jr Boulevard
Tallahassee, 32307

The Official page of Florida A&M University. Stay connected to life on the "Hill"

Florida State University College of Education, Health, and Human Sciences Florida State University College of Education, Health, and Human Sciences
1114 W Call Street
Tallahassee, 32306

Maximizing Human Potential

Florida State University College of Health and Human Sciences Florida State University College of Health and Human Sciences
120 Convocation Way
Tallahassee, 32303

Please visit our College of Education, Health, and Human Sciences page for the latest updates!

Florida State University College of Law Florida State University College of Law
425 W Jefferson Street
Tallahassee, 32306

This is the official page for the Florida State University College of Law.

Office of Fraternity and Sorority Life - Florida State University Office of Fraternity and Sorority Life - Florida State University
75 N Woodward Avenue, Oglesby Union T114
Tallahassee, 32304

Official page of the Office of Fraternitiy and Sorority Life at Florida State University

FSU-TEACH FSU-TEACH
1021 Atomic Way, 209 MCH
Tallahassee, 32308

FSU's double major program for STEM majors interested in earning a second major in science or math t

Florida A&M University School Of Business & Industry Florida A&M University School Of Business & Industry
500 Gamble Street, Florida A&M University
Tallahassee, 32310

Join the legacy. Build your own. Apply Now to get a head start on your career with the School of Business and Industry at FAMU. http://famu.edu/admissions

FSU Career Center FSU Career Center
100 S Woodward Avenue
Tallahassee, 32304

Search for majors, apply for jobs, or look ahead to post graduate study with help from the FSU Career Center! We'll get you started with resume critiques, mock interviews, and career advising. Drop by M-F, 9 am-4:30 pm to prepare for life after FSU!

Florida State University College of Social Work Florida State University College of Social Work
296 Champions Way
Tallahassee, 32306

The FSU College of Social Work is committed to social work education by preparing competent, effective social workers.

FSU Student Organizations and Involvement FSU Student Organizations and Involvement
109 W Collegiate Loop
Tallahassee, 32306

Create your FSU experience with the Student Organizations and Involvement. Get involved with over 700 registered student organizations! Summer Nights Registration: linktr.ee/FSUSummerNights

Florida State University Registrar Florida State University Registrar
A3900 University Center, 282 Champions Way
Tallahassee, 32306

The official page of the Office of the Florida State University Registrar. More information availabl